Commission members

The Governor-General, on the recommendation of the Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, appoints Commission members for their knowledge of, and experience in, areas relevant to the Commission's interests. The Telecommunications Commissioner is appointed on the recommendation of the Minister for Communications and Information Technology.

Mark Berry 220wide

Dr Mark Berry


Dr Mark Berry was appointed Chairman in April 2009 and his term expires in March 2019. Mark is a former partner of law firm Bell Gully and former consultant with Chapman Tripp. Mark has been in practice as a barrister sole since 2002 and holds a doctorate from Columbia University, New York. He is a former member of the faculty at Otago University Law School, and is a member of the International Advisory Board at the Institute for Consumer Antitrust Studies at Loyola University Chicago School of Law. Mark is also an Associate Member of the ACCC, a position he will hold until 31 March 2019.
Sue Begg 220wide

Sue Begg

Deputy Chair

Sue Begg was appointed as a Commissioner in June 2009 and Deputy Chair in July 2010. Her term was renewed for a further 5 years in June 2014. She was also appointed as an Associate Member of the ACCC in April 2016. Sue is an economist, whose previous roles include director of the consultancy company Impetus Group Limited, Vice-President and head of the economic advisory unit of the investment banking division of Credit Suisse First Boston NZ Limited (and its predecessor companies) and manager of the Macroeconomic Policy section at the Treasury.
Stephen Gale 220wide

Dr Stephen Gale

Telecommunications Commissioner

Dr Stephen Gale was appointed as the Telecommunications Commissioner in July 2012. Prior to that, he had been an Associate Commissioner since July 2010. Stephen has specialised for some years in infrastructure economics (energy, telco and transport) and competition proceedings at the consulting firm Castalia. Before that he was at the New Zealand Institute of Economic Research. He holds a PhD from the University of Cambridge.
Anna Rawlings 220wide

Anna Rawlings


Anna Rawlings was appointed as a Commissioner in June 2014. She was previously a partner in the dispute resolution division of Minter Ellison Rudd Watts, where she specialised in contentious and non-contentious aspects of competition, regulatory and consumer law. Anna holds a BA/LLB (Hons) from the University of Auckland and an LLM from the University of Toronto, where her work was focused in law and economics.
Jill Walker 220wide

Dr Jill Walker


Dr Jill Walker commenced her term as a Commissioner on 1 December 2015, following her appointment as an Associate Commissioner in November 2010. She was a Commissioner of the ACCC in Australia from September 2009 to April 2016. Before joining the ACCC, Jill was a Member of the Australian Competition Tribunal and worked as an economic consultant. She holds a BA in economics and a PhD in land economy from the University of Cambridge. She also holds a Masters degree in economics from the University of Massachusetts.
Elisabeth Welson 220wide

Elisabeth Welson


Elisabeth Welson was appointed in September 2012 as Associate Commissioner and as a Commissioner on 19 August 2013. Before joining the Commission, Elisabeth was a senior commercial partner at Simpson Grierson, where she co-led the competition and regulatory group and headed the energy, natural resources and utilities market group. She holds an LLB (Hons) from the University of Auckland and has practised as a barrister and solicitor in New Zealand as well as a solicitor of the Supreme Court of Queensland and solicitor of the Supreme Court of New South Wales.
Sarah Court 220wide

Sarah Court

Associate Commissioner

Sarah Court was cross-appointed from the ACCC as an Associate Commissioner in December 2015. She has been a Commissioner of the ACCC since April 2008, being reappointed for a further five-year term in 2013. She is a former senior executive lawyer and director with the Australian Government Solicitor. She has extensive experience in Commonwealth legal work, including restrictive trade practices, consumer protection and law enforcement litigation. As Chair of the ACCC’s Enforcement Committee, Sarah oversees the agency’s enforcement and litigation programme. She also sits on the ACCC’s Merger Review Committee, Adjudication Committee and Infrastructure Committee.

Hon Sir Bruce Robertson KNZM

Cease and Desist Commissioner

Michael Behrens QC

Cease and Desist Commissioner